Several Cardinal football players were honored at last week’s meeting of SPUHSD Trustees for being selected to the Frontier League First Team. Those honored include (photo above left) Roland Hernandez, Gilbert Mora, Zach McClain, Jonathan Calderon, Joe Camacho, Max Moreno and Mike Vera. Not pictured: Miguel Gomez. Also pictured (in the rear and lower left inset) is Coach Teohua Sanchez, Frontier League Coach of the Year. (Photo above right) Verenice Orozco was selected to the All Frontier League volleyball First Team. She’s pictured with JV Coach Kelly Payne.

Cardinal players make All Frontier League teams, football coach named Coach of the Year

December 17, 2008
Cardinal athletes in fall sports have been named to All Frontier League Teams. For the Frontier League Champions Coach Teohua Sanchez also had the honor of being named Coach of the Year. He took over the program this year, the first year they played in the Frontier League. They had been in the Tri-Valley league, playing against powerhouse teams like Oaks Christian and Oak Park.Football players named to the First Team offense are: Gilbert Mora, Miguel Gomez, Zach McClain, and Max Moreno. First Team defense players are: Jonathan Calderon, Roland Hernandez and Mike Vera. In addition, Joe Camacho was named Frontier League co-defensive Player of the Year, along with Christian Prado of Fillmore. Moreno, Camacho, Calderon, Mora and Hernandez are also All-County selections.Second Team offense players are: Andrew Burboa, Anthony Murillo and Rene Sanchez. Second Team defense players are: Tommy Perez, Danny Solis, Joseph Morales and Jeff Ontiveros. Receiving Honorable Mention: Adam Chojnacki.Coach Sanchez thanked everyone for their support and said of his players: “These young men were outstanding.”
For girls’ volleyball one Lady Cardinal made the League First Team. That is Verenice Orozco. Laniah Lee was named to the Second Team. Receiving Honorable Mention: Jeanette Gonzalez, Sonia Ortiz and Yesnia Baez.For girls’ tennis, several Santa Paula girls were honored. Named to the Second Team are: Ashley Ritenour and Veronica Esparza. Receiving Honorable Mention: Caitlin Birky, Kimi Yamamoto and Janessa Pulido.

Site Search



Call 805 525 1890 to receive the entire paper early. $50.00 for one year.